RIP Steve Jobs

I just wrote “RIP Steve Jobs” on my Facebook wall. I thought I would be one of the first, but about 15 or 20 friends beat me to it. Writing this on a Mac: Steve Jobs innovated, created, inspired, and generally made life better. I like seeing all of my friends recognize him for his contributions, which are best known by the employees at Apple and its faithful users, among whom I have been since 2003. That he got filthy rich in the process doesn’t bother me. In fact, I’m glad he did.

The WSJ has a kind obituary with many other scions of the industry paying their respects. Mentioned in the article is the great “1984” video directed by Ridley Scott.

Jobs’ intro to the video followed by the video itself:

For the video only:

From the WSJ: “‘Picasso had a saying, ‘Good artists copy. Great artists steal,” Mr. Jobs said in a PBS documentary on the computer industry from the mid-1990s. ‘I’ve been shameless about stealing great ideas.'”

Allow me to steal from a friend: iSad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Obituaries, Technology

Share Your Thoughts

