Hello darkness, my old friend / I’ve come to talk with you again

I debated starting a blog for quite a while and decided a few days ago that the tenth anniversary of the 9/11 attacks would be as good a time as any. This will be a blog about my thoughts on the passing scene: politics and economics, defense and diplomacy, culture and sports. The date was significant to me for two reasons. First, I began to think about and study such topics around ten years ago. I was never confident enough in my thoughts and beliefs to blog before this. I now feel comfortable not just sharing these thoughts, but sharing their evolution in a world where 9/11-type “black swans” force us to reconsider and challenge many of our assumptions. Second, yesterday was a reminder of the seriousness and necessity of understanding our world. My schedule permitting, I’d like to add to that understanding with daily blog posts, whether they be my thoughts or simply links to articles I find thought provoking and insightful.

I was unsure what my first post would be about, but decided yesterday to simply link Paul Simon’s performance of “The Sound of Silence” at the beautiful NYC memorial service. I was moved by the event, especially of the statements of remembrance spoken by the loved ones of the deceased after turns reading their names. On several occasions I was quite choked up, including during this performance. Enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Share Your Thoughts

